The Dirty Dozen, with Debbie Ridpath Ohi

After the success of I'm Bored, the hilarious picture book written by comedian Michael Ian Black and illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi, kids and parents alike were eager for more. The wait is over with Naked! (Simon & Schuster Canada), Black and Ohi's second collaboration.

Debbie has also illustrated covers for Simon & Schuster's recently reissued Judy Blume collection. You can check out the fantastic covers here.

The Proust Questionnaire, with Shawn Micallef

Shawn Micallef is as much a part of Toronto as standing in line for an hour on Sunday morning to get the perfect eggs Benedict. As senior editor and co-owner of Spacing magazine and a columnist for The Toronto Star, Shawn's writing on public space, Toronto history and cultural politics is an essential part of the Toronto conversation.

Words & Pictures Interview with Kathleen O'Connell, Translator & Academic

On July 3, TIFF Cinematheque launched The Sun And The Moon: The Films Of Satyajit Ray, their retrospective of beloved Bengali filmmaker and writer Satyajit Ray's work.

On July 11, Canadian academic Kathleen O'Connell introduced Ray's film Charulata and spoke on the influence of Bengali Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore on Ray's work.

Today we speak with Kathleen, who has translated Ray's work into English and who teaches courses at the University of Toronto on both Tagore and Ray. Kathleen tells us about Ray's writing style, her translation experiences and where to start in appreciating Ray's work.

The TIFF Satyajit Ray series is ongoing until August 17.

Humber Literary Review

Open Book App Ad